Officers of the Order of Alba

  • President General: Charles B. "Chuck" Poland FSA Scot
  • 1st Vice President General: Carla Whitehurst Odom
  • 2nd Vice President General: Douglass M. "Tim" Mabee
  • Treasurer General and Journal of Alba Editor: Suzanna Etheridge Rawlins
  • Secretary General: Ann Scott Williams Garner
  • Registrar/Genealogist General: David Lawrence Grinnell
  • Chancellor General: Carter B. S. Furr, Esq.
  • Chaplain General: Suzanne Bedford Leif
  • Councilor: Christopher Willard Moberg
  • Councilor: Jane Routt Power
  • Historian and Insignia Chairperson: Madeline Elaine Wilson Alworth



Dr. Bruce Durie BSc (Hons) PhD OMLJ FSAScot FCollT FIGRS FHEA

Bruce Durie is considered one of Scotland's top genealogists, with an international reputation. He is perhaps best known for his BBC radio series, “Digging Up Your Roots” (8th season in 2014), and “A House with A Past”, and he has authored 30 books, including the best-selling “Scottish Genealogy” now in its 3rd edition.


Recently elected to the prestigious Académie Internationale de Généalogie (the only member from Scotland), he is Shennachie (Genealogist and Historian) to the Chief of Durie and to the Order of Alba.


Dr Durie founded the much-acclaimed post-graduate program in Genealogical, Palaeographic and Heraldic Studies at the University of Strathclyde in Glasgow, which he headed for six years as Course Director, until 2011. Now a Fellow at Strathclyde, he is currently developing a full-time one-year Masters and a Doctoral programme.


He also teaches courses on Genealogy, Documents and Heraldry at the University of Edinburgh.


His background is in medicine and neuropharmacology, as well as holding a doctoral degree in history.


Dr Durie co-organises ancestral and historical tours of Scotland along with Jamie, Lord Sempill 




and is a frequent guest at Tartan Week, Gathering, Games and Caucus meetings in the USA and Canada.


More information at about Dr. Durie and his books at


© 2014-2017 by the Order of Alba.